2014 Race Calendar (a work in progress)

There is nothing more exciting to a runner than planning out their race calendar for the year.  I have been surfing the web over the last couple weeks looking for some local races and maybe a couple destination races to do in 2014.  Here is a list of the possibilities so far:

1.  First up for 2014 is the Phoenix Rock and Roll Half on January 19th.

Rock and Roll Half Marathon Finishers Medal

Rock and Roll Half Marathon Finishers Medal

Still wish I was doing the full marathon, but I look forward to taking lots of pictures along the route and enjoying the scenery and sites.  This will be my first race since Ragnar DC back in October, so I am really looking forward to being back out on a course with fellow runners pushing themselves.

2. Albuquerque Half Marathon April 19th

half-final jpeg

Last year I set a HUGE PR at this race – by over 20 minutes at 1hr52min53seconds.  It’s going to be hard to come close to that again, but a girl can hope and dream right?  I’d love to get a little closer to 1hr50min this year.

3.  Santa Fe Runaround May 19th.  I just came across this run on Active.com this morning and thought it sounded like fun.  A 10k, 5k, and kids 1k and the prices are right for entering children at $5 for the 5k or 1k!  It starts in the plaza and runs a course out to a park and back.  I’ve always wanted to try a run in Santa Fe, so I think I’ll put this one on the race calendar.

4.Ragnar Chicago June 6-7.

ragnar-logo-wonky

After being injured during Ragnar DC and feeling like I wasn’t able to give it my best effort, I’ve been wanting to revisit a Ragnar race.  I always head back to Wisconsin for the summer with my kids for a few weeks and decided to plan our trip so I can be home for this awesome race.  I’ve formed a team of my Ragnar DC teammates and a few husbands and we are really excited about running a mostly flat, hopefully cooler weather race from Madison, Wisconsin to Chicago.

5.La Luz Trail Run August ??.

I hope to be one of these runners later this summer!

I hope to be one of these runners later this summer!

The date hasn’t been set, but the race usually is the first or second weekend in August.  4,000ft elevation gain over 9 miles, zigzagging up Sandia Mountain.  It’s a badge of honor for an Albuquerquerean, and I think I am ready to tackle it.  Training for this race can be tricky depending on the weather.  The last couple summers the National Forest (and the trail up the mountain) have been closed for several weeks due to fire danger, so I’m hoping for a wet spring and summer!

6.Chips and Salsa 10k or Half Marathon Septemeber ??.

New logo isn't out, but am looking forward this race in the fall.

New logo isn’t out, but am looking forward this race in the fall.

This date has also not been set, but it always falls around the middle of September – near my birthday!  I love the course, the leaves are always changing and the weather has never disappointed in all the years I have done it.  What better way to spend your birthday than with a great run, followed by breakfast burritos and chips and salsa at the finish line?  Two years ago I PR’ed at the 10k and won my age division, last year I was injured so I walked the 5k with my daughter.  This year I hope to set another record at either the 10k or half race.

7. Marine Corp Marathon October 26th.

536693_10152281387765014_603794103_n

This is a long shot, but I’d love for this race to be my first marathon in 14 years!  Registration opens Feb 23rd, so cross your fingers!

I’m sure I’ll sprinkle in a few 5ks throughout the year with my daughter as well.  She loved the Blacklight Run last year – ran the whole race and loved the after party that followed – so hopefully we can tackle another color race of some sort together.

Post-race glow.

Post-race glow.

What races do you have scheduled for 2014?  Will you be setting some new PRs or just out to have fun?

Leave a Reply

