The Taper

6 days until the half marathon, and I may need to create this sign for our front door.

6 days until the half marathon, and I may need to create this sign for our front door.

T-7 days until Phoenix Rock and Roll!  It’s time to talk about tapering.  My mileage has significantly decreased on my training plan (Train Like a Mother: Half-Marathon Own It Plan) this last week and the upcoming week has only a few short runs :

Monday: 3-4 miles (and pilates class)

Tuesday 3 miles, last 2 at RP

Wednesday: 3miles, 4-6 strides

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 20 min or rest

Saturday: 20 min or rest

Sunday: RACE!

Screenshot 2014-01-13 08.12.26

A lot of runners I know , including myself, get a little crazy during the taper.  They feel like they aren’t running enough and are losing fitness.  I’m not feeling that so much this time around.  I know I am not going to PR in this race because I haven’t been able to train as hard with shin splints, so I am a lot more laid back about cutting my running down.  Can I admit I am actually happy about only putting in 10-12 miles this week before the race?  (Gasp!)  I think that is a sign that after this race a couple weeks off a plan and cross training is in order.

How do you feel about tapering?  Do you have any secret tips for getting through tapering week?

Leave a Reply

