Carbs. Carbs. Carbs. Carbs.

Am I dreaming?!

Am I dreaming?!

My favorite, favorite, FAVORITE part of training – the carb loading!  Who doesn’t love forbidden white bread and pasta?!  I am three days out from my race and I have to admit, I may have started the carb loading a little early. I couldn’t help myself and I went crazy at the store.  Tortellini, gnocchi, animal crackers, white bread, bagels, pita chips, pretzels.  And a lot of it I ate already.   I’m a carb-aholic and when I have been given the green light to eat all the things I don’t allow myself on a regular basis, I just go off the deep end.

Seriously, though. I have been doing a lot of reading about carb loading before a race this week mainly because my husband is running his first full marathon and I want him to not hit the wall. (*Note: I am not a doctor or an expert on carb loading. Please take the following information with a grain of pasta…I mean salt.)  One of the important things I learned in this article is to start the carb loading 2-3 days before the actual race, dispelling the ‘huge bowl of pasta the night before the race’ myth.  Your body can store and build glycogen stores a little at a time so eating a few days of small carb-loaded meals is the way to go.  I also learned 85-95% of your calories on those days leading up to the race should consist of carbs, with a little bit of protein mixed in.  Go easy on the fiber and skip the butter, oil, and cream as well.  This Runner’s World article even has a sample menu for a day:

Good Eats
A day of carbo-loading for a 150-pound runner

BREAKFAST
1 bagel with 2 tablespoons strawberry jam (71 g)
1 medium banana (27 g)
8 ounces fruit yogurt (41 g)
8 ounces orange juice (26 g)

MORNING SNACK
2 Nature Valley Oats ‘n Honey
Granola Bars (29 g)
8 ounces Gatorade (14 g)

LUNCH
1 large baked potato with 1/4 cup salsa (69 g)
1 sourdough roll (40 g)
8 ounces chocolate milk (26 g)
1 large oatmeal cookie (56 g)

AFTERNOON SNACK
1 Clif Bar (42 g)
8 ounces Gatorade (14 g)

DINNER
1 chicken burrito with rice, corn salsa, and black beans (105 g)
1 2-ounce bag Swedish Fish (51 g)

One thing I noticed about this plan that I am going to try is including Gatorade in the days leading up to a race.   I usually reserve Gatorade as a drink  I use only during the race and maybe one cup following a long run, but never outside of running.    I’m interested to see how this affects my hydration and how I feel during the race.

Pasta Love.

Pasta Love.

My meal plans for the rest of the week will go something like this:

Thursday:

Breakfast: Oatmeal w/berries

Lunch: Turkey Sandwich on White Bread

Dinner: Stir Fry with white rice

Friday:

Breakfast: Waffles with berries and bananas

Lunch: Baked Potato with Salsa

Dinner: Gnocci w/ marinara

Saturday:

Breakfast: Waffle with berries and bananas

Lunch: Sandwich from the airport – something on white bread!

Dinner: There is an Einsteins Bagel in our hotel, so I am hoping to grab a sandwich from the for dinner as well as a bagel for my pre-race breakfast the next morning.

Snacks: Cliff Bars, Gatorade, Pretzels

Screenshot 2014-01-15 20.09.59

Happy carb loading!

2 thoughts on “Carbs. Carbs. Carbs. Carbs.

  1. Good tips… one thing that also goes great with days before activities is SLEEP. He may be anxious the night before so make sure you both get lots of sleep 2-3 days before. Even just an hour or two more will help.

    Bread and sleep. Heaven.

    Like

  2. Great tips. One thing to remember as the day gets closer is to increase rest and sleep. He may be anxious the night before, so get extra sleep 2-3 days before. Even just an extra hour or two a night can help.

    Bread and sleep. Heaven.

    Like

Leave a Reply

