Half Marathon Training Starts….NOW!

After a week off of running and generally working out post-RnRAZ, I am so ready to get back on a plan.  The Albuquerque Half Marathon is just 12 weeks away and I was feeling rested, so I started this week.  I’m a loyal follower of AnotherMotherRunner.com and I absolutely love their books.  Their Half Marathon Own It Plan from their book Train Like A Mother got me to a huge, huge, huge PR last spring of over 20 minutes at 1hr53minutes.  I never could have imagined that I could go that fast and while I was exhausted at the end of that race, I was so happy with the results and my ability to push through.

That smile says 'Huge PR'!

That smile says ‘Huge PR’!

This round of training I am going in a different direction, though.  My husband followed the novice marathon training plan from Run Less, Run Faster by Runner’s World this fall and I really like the idea of cross training more.  After being injured I decided I want to focus more on whole body wellness.  I want to do more strength training, include pilates and ride the bike or swim at the gym more during my training.  The idea behind the Run Less, Run Faster plans are that you have three quality runs each week – a long run, a tempo run and a speed workout, along with two cross training sessions.  ONLY THREE RUNS A WEEK.   Because you are running less, you have to make those workouts count so they give you very specific time goals to hit for each one.  One huge difference is the speed of the  long runs.  In the past I have taken my long runs very easy and haven’t watched my pace all that much – one to two minutes slower than race pace usually.  In Run Less, Run Faster all my long runs for half marathon training are going to be at half marathon pace + 20 seconds or half marathon pace + 30 seconds.  When deciding what my half marathon pace is going to be, I decided to focus on a range – keep my pace between a 1:50-2:00hr half marathon pace, with a focus more on the 1:50 side.    This is going to be challenging since I just ran a 2:04 in Phoenix a week ago at a lot lower altitude.  But I know I am capable of a 1:53, and that is something I keep reminding myself.  Also, this quote:

Screenshot 2014-01-28 07.43.40

As long as my body can hang in there, I am going to push myself to the limit for this race.

The first thing I always do is hand-write out my training plan.

Run Less, Run Faster Half Marathon Training Plan

Run Less, Run Faster Half Marathon Training Plan…with shiny stars for my completed workouts.

Why hand-write it?  I think it prepares me for the work ahead and lets me see the ebb and flow of the plan.  When there is a challenging week, and when there is a week of easier workouts.   Right now I have plugged in all the bike workouts as my cross training, but maybe I’ll throw in a couple swim cross training sessions as it gets warmer out.

Yesterday I headed out for my first long run of the plan.  I have chosen to do my long runs during the week while the kids are in school because my husband is a CPA and tax season is gearing up – i.e. work seven days a week for 12 hours a day from Feb-April 15th.  Rather than get a sitter every Saturday (which I did last year during tax season), I thought I’d get my long runs and tempo runs while the kids in school, and save the nice short track workouts for Saturday mornings when I can get up at 5am and be done by 6am for him to leave for work.  So.  The first long run.  8 miles at HMP(half marathon pace)+30.  I chose to use my 1:53 half marathon pace of 8:37 +30sec for this run.  It was a challenge.  My body is so used to falling into the 10min/mile pace that I have been using all winter – I was constantly looking at my Garmin to adjust pace:

Pace all over the board...

Pace all over the board…

And then there are those spikes…where I either had to stop at a stop light, take a water break, or have a walk break.  The first 6.5 miles were only the former two, but after that things started to go down hill and I had to include a few walk breaks.  I wasn’t super-pleased with myself, but I reminded myself this was my first long run at such a fast pace and (hopefully) I will look back at this run in a couple weeks and be so much stronger.  And how did I finish?  At a pace of 9:07, I should have completed 8m in 1:13:04.  Here is the result:

8miles in 1:13:07

8miles in 1:13:07.  Run Happy!

I’ll take it.

Today is a rest day and I am taking full advantage of it.  The rest of my week:

Wednesday: Spinning.  5min easy, 3x(5min tempo, 1min easy), 5min easy  and Pilates

Thursday: 3×1600 (60 sec Rest Interval)

Friday: off

Saturday: 1mile easy, 6miles at 8:40, 1mile easy

I’m looking forward to this Run Less, Run Faster adventure.

What training plans do you use?

How much cross training do you include and what types?  

3 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Starts….NOW!

  1. Wow, way to go Jill!!!!! You did awesome. You are going to do great. Love the shirt. 🙂

    I just started my Iron Girl Half Marathon Training on Monday. I’m using the Run Like a mother own it plan. I’ll have to check out this plan you are using. Sounds like fun. I do weights for cross training and lots of stroller pushing….does that count as cross training? hahahaha….Keep up the great work.

    Like

    • I don’t know how you do it with the stroller. I don’t think I ever ran over five miles pushing my kids. You are a super mom! I love the TLAM plans, just want to try something different. Thanks for reading… I know it is not very interesting, but I am enjoying keeping a ‘journal’ of my training this way. 😉

      Like

  2. Pingback: Training Week 1 | Jill Runs NM

Leave a Reply

