Run This Year 2014 Update!

Image

It’s been two months since I decided to join the Run This Year 2014 challenge.   After falling short of my 1,200 mile goal in 2013 due to injury, I decided to set my goals high for this year …and stay injury free…. 2,014 km in 2014 (or 1251 miles). So, how am I doing?

January was a little bit of a slow start.  I had the Phoenix Rock and Roll Half Marathon on January 19th, which called for a taper for the first two weeks of January before the race and then a little RnR from the RnR (Rest and Relaxation from the Rock and Roll).  

Total miles for January: 70.82 running (50.3 biking)

In February I picked up the pace.  My next big race on my calendar is the Albuquerque Half Marathon on April 19th and I jumped onto the Run Less, Run Faster training plan as soon as I felt rested from the Phoenix RnR Half.  Because the Run Less, Run Faster (RLRF) book emphasizes three quality runs a week and two cross training workouts, I was a little concerned I wouldn’t hit my 100+ mile goals, but was surprised when I logged on this weekend to get my Feb. totals:

Total miles for February: 101.86 running (74.90 biking)

and the grand total for 2014 so far: 172.68 running (139.20 biking)!  

Ok, so I am a little bit behind to achieve 1,251 miles for the year.  I should be at 208 running miles by the end of February, but I am going to keep plugging away.  Maybe I will have to adjust my goals to include my biking totals since I am spending so much time cross training and my number one goal for the year is to stay injury free.  I am really pleased with the RLRF program after 5 weeks of being on their half marathon plan.  I haven’t hit all the pace goals for every single run, but I have gotten the miles in and feel like my body isn’t getting too broken down as I near the thick of the training miles.  I do miss an ‘easy run’ every now and again – one where I don’t have to constantly be checking my Garmin for pace and mileage, but I did have one little ‘cheat day’ last week when I skipped a 30min easy spinning bike ride and ran outside without my watch for 30 min.  It felt good and I look forward to pulling back for a week or two once this race is over before my next race…. 

And I am so excited to share that I have signed up for my first trail race – The Valles Caldera 10k on May 3rd!  I have had my eye on this race for a few years but it always seemed to be in June when I was on vacation.  This year they moved it back to May which could be a little cold, but will probably be better to avoid the heat of summer and forrest fire closings.  Here are a few pictures from the race website:

ImageImage

 

 

Doesn’t it look wonderful!?!  Now here is the scary part:

ImageIt’s a little fuzzy, I know.  If you squint at the above elevation chart you can see the race starts at 8,200 feet and climbs to nearly 8,800 for the first three miles! Yikes.  I live at approximately 5,600 feet, so at least I am not coming from sea level, but it is still going to be a huge stretch.  My plan for the race: leave my watch at home and take a lot of pictures on my first trail adventure.  Now for the technical questions: What type of race gear do I need?  Shoe suggestions?  Any other trail racing knowledge you would like to impart?

 

 

Leave a Reply

