Where I Have Been and Where I Am Going….

Wow.  It’s been almost two months since my last post!  Life got busy and while writing about running may have fallen to the wayside, my running workouts and races did not!  Since my last post:

1. I ran the Shamrock Shuffle 5k with my 6 yr old daughter.  And she ROCKED it!  In Albuquerque and the surrounding suburbs there seem to be some standard 5k and 10k routes that all the race organizers use and the one the Shamrock Shuffle uses I try to avoid….because it is uber hilly.   But I had these great new socks

Screenshot 2014-05-02 12.04.39and they needed to be used in a St Patty’s day race – surprise, surprise New Mexico has only one such race on the uber hilly course.  We decked ourselves out in as much green as possible and headed across town to the race.  Not only did I have to run the hilly course, but it was my turn to push the stroller with our almost 4 yr old.  Ugh.  I could barely keep up with my daughter in the race, she stopped several times to let me catch up and finally at mile 2 had to tell her to go on ahead, “Just follow the rest of the people, ” I panted.  And she did.  She PR’ed the race by around 10 minutes, with a finish time of approx. 34min.  Wow.  Just wow.  I have to give props to the guy dressed a green chili pepper costume.  He started out in front of us and Cate had a fire in her to “beat the green banana!”.

Screenshot 2014-05-02 12.03.53

The Green Chili Costume looked something like this…

She passed him by mile 1 and only needed to be reminded that he was gaining on her near the finish line for her to kick it in to high gear for the last 100 meters.   Cate ended up winning her age division for the race and was so proud of herself to get the special 1st place medal.  I didn’t mention to her that she was the ONLY PERSON in the  girl age 6-9 division.

 

IMG_8116

My Irish lad ready to rock the 1k.

IMG_8111

Sweet victory!

2.  I ran the Albuquerque Half Marathon on April 19th.  About two weeks before the race a tweaked my hip during a tempo run, and being the type A person I pushed through the training plan instead of taking a few days off to rest it.  Resting when I am injured is really, really tough for me and something I need to work on.  So needless to say, on race day my hip was still bothering me – so much that I couldn’t push myself to keep the pace I had been training for.  That morning I thought I would try taking two ibuprofen to see if it would dull the pain, but by race time my hip was still hurting AND my stomach was upset from the medicine.  Double whammy.  I should have learned my lesson from Ragnar DC that ibuprofen and I don’t get along….

IMG_00320

Where’s the Immodium?

By mile 3 or so, I resolved myself to just getting to the finish line and to take in the scenery.  And that is what I did.  I finished – 16 whole minutes slower than my 2013 time – but I finished.  Lesson learned: Not every race is going to be epic and it sure is nice to let the pressure go and enjoy the commeradery of other runners out for a race on a beautiful spring morning.

IMG_0003

 

Where I am going:

1. Tomorrow I will undertake my very first TRAIL RACE!  I have signed up for the Valles Caldera 10k which takes place at 8,000 feet above sea level.  Weather is predicted to be beautiful and I am excited to wear this shirt that I received from my friend Aimee:

IMG_0009

 

I think “My Pace. My Peace” will be the perfect mantra for me tomorrow.  There is something really exciting to me about doing a race that I have never done before because there is no pressure to ‘do better than last time”.   Whatever I accomplish tomorrow will be a PR.  And maybe that is why starting to trail race will be a new goal.  Every trail is different – different altitude, different obstacles, different elevation gains/losses.  And short of doing the same race year after year, I won’t be able to compare say a 10k in the Valles Caldera to a 10k in the Sandia Mountains.  I like the thought of that…

 

2.  Ragnar ChicagoScreenshot 2014-05-02 12.07.04Ragnar Chicago is just one short month away and my team and I are getting really excited.   We are being sponsored partly by Breadsmith, so we thought we would pay tribute to them in our team name: This Is How We Roll.  We’ve ordered t-shirts and magnets to tag other vans and have finalized which leg will be run by which runner.  I’ve been assigned Leg 9 and be in Van 2.  This will be different than my last Ragnar (Washington DC) when I was in Van 1 and was able to sleep from midnight to 6am.  I personally think Van 2 has the harder job in a Ragnar because they have to run from noon-6pm, midnight – 6am and noon-6pm roughly – running through the hottest part of the day and the dead of night.  If anything, some really funny stories will probably come of it due to serious sleep deprivation.  Here’s a picture of my sis and I doing some Ragnar practice while she was visiting last week!

IMG_0004

3. La Luz Trail Run.

Screenshot 2014-05-02 12.02.15

 

IMG_0008

Sign on the first 2 miles of road leading to the trail head.

I’ve signed up for the lottery drawing for an entry into what 2001 Trail Runner Magazine selected as one of the “12 Most Grueling Trail Races in North America”.  Yes.  I voluntarily have signed up to run 9 miles and 5,000 feet elevation gain up Sandia Mountain.  I kind feel like it is a right of passage as and Albuquerque runner to complete this race.  And that is all I will be doing if I get in: just making it to the finish line.  The lottery takes place May 8th.  We will see if this is my year.

 

So that is what I have been up to these last couple months and my plans for the summer.  What are your summer racing plans?  

4 thoughts on “Where I Have Been and Where I Am Going….

  1. Super exciting stuff! I think I need a shirt that says, “My race, my pace.” Your post reminds me how gratifying just finishing is and that applies to a lot of things other than running doesn’t?

    Like

    • Good luck with the marathon,Jamie. I want to tackle that distance by the end of 2014… hopefully this is the year of conquering all sorts of my fears! Look forward to readying your race report in July.

      Like

Leave a Reply

