New Year, New Goals

I went to an interesting Q and A a couple weeks ago at my favorite local running store, Bosque Running Shop.  The guests were Lauren Fleshman and her ‘Little Wing‘ group of runners she coaches for Oiselle.  The group was in Albuquerque altitude training for a month and agreed to do a short 3m run and Q&A session following with anyone that attended.  It was a great experience running with a bunch of girls that are vying for the 2016 Olympics and to realize they have daily struggles just like every other runner out there.   The girls talked about goal setting and Lauren specifically talked about writing them down as the first step – even those dreams that scare you.  Something that really struck me was when she said something along the lines of, “You may not achieve those huge goals, but you need to enjoy the little steps that happen as you work.”  The type A part of me could not get my head around setting a goal and NOT achieving it, but maybe that is something I need to work on – to be proud of the process and not just the end product.   I bought a copy of Lauren’s Believe Journal, got it autographed by all the girls and started my goal setting process.  The Journal has fantastic tips about goal setting and basic training and I am excited to reflect on my running this year.  I am hoping it helps me see the bigger picture when I get hurt or am not running my best and maybe find clues as to what works best for me.

After much thought, my 2015 goals are:

1. Stay healthy.  Listen to my body.  Take rest days.  Foam roll like crazy.

2. Strength and Core at LEAST 2 days a week.

3. Achieve a 10k PR.  Done….see below!

2. Sub 2 hour 1/2 marathon…and if training goes well, maybe even a PR (sub 1:53) in April.

3. Pull back after the 1/2 in April and continue to build a strong base for San Diego Rock n Roll Marathon May 31st.  Own the marathon.  No walking.

4. Trail Running this summer. La Luz August 2nd.  Ragnar Angel Fire August 28-29th.  Enjoy the mountains.

5. End of year marathon or early 2016 marathon.

I am ready to enjoy the journey.  Enjoy my health.  Be grateful.

SuperBowl 10k Race Report:

I have been training since mid-December for a 10k to try to get back some speed.  After an injury prone year and a half I was finally ready to push myself and not be afraid of injury.  I wanted to run fast again. My fastest 10k to date had been 52:52 set back in 2012.  My training was pointing toward a PR right up until I was taken down with the flu for two weeks.  I missed the hardest training week which was disconcerning to me, but decided to just pick up on the schedule where I was and not try to ‘make up for lost time’.  Once I got back on my feet I had a couple more confidence boosting runs right before race day, so  I decided to push myself and be uncomfortable in the race, push through my mental barriers.  I finished in 50:58 – so close to a 2 minute PR and an 2nd Place AG Award!

2467

I had a strong race for the first 4 miles, averaging 8:05 miles, but fell off the last 2.2 with 8:25 per mile.   I knew I was going out faster than I should, but am so happy that I pushed myself to the limit.  I used the mottos, “Fly” and “Take Chances” I found on Oiselle’s pinterest boards to push myself through the tough parts.

Take Chances

Take Chances – In my dreams I look just like this when running.

Fly!

Fly!

I wanted to walk during this last two miles, but told myself it was just my mind… my legs still had speed.  I find the hardest part of racing is getting over those little voices in my head telling me to stop or walk ‘just for a minute’, so if there is a bigger victory than the PR I set it is that I was able to quiet those thoughts and hang on.

2459  Next up, maybe a sub 50:00?

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals

Leave a Reply

